Drying Big and Small Orchids

February 21, 2015:

IMG_3041I was able to come across some big purple orchids and thought that they would make an interesting addition to my collection as they are larger compared to all my other flowers.

IMG_3040 I first did the usual beginning process of cutting the stem and leaving about an an inch or less of the stem in order to stick a toothpick through it. As mentioned in my other posts doing this process will help in drying the resin as the toothpick could be held up by putting it on a styrofoam bar.

IMG_3042I then filled my container with about an inch of silica gel, so that when I put the flowers on the gel, it would be dried from the bottom and top of the flower.

IMG_3043 IMG_3044 Once I had the bed of silica gel, I placed all three flowers on top of the gel and covered all three of them in silica gel.I placed the flowers faced down as I realized that this was the best way to dry the flowers. I was able to make this conclusion as in my past experiments the flowers would dry crumpled or in a wilted position. Based on that observation I thought that if I dried the flowers face down, the petals would be dried in an open position rather than a crumpled or closed one. I will be leaving the flowers in the gel for about a week or even 10 days, in consideration to the flowers large size.

IMG_3045 IMG_3046 Since I still had some spare silica gel, I decided to dry two more orchids. I used the white and purple orchid found in the pictures above. I then did the process of cutting the stem in order to stick a toothpick through the bottom of the flower.

IMG_3047 IMG_3048  I then poured in about an inch-deep bed of silica gel in the container and placed the flowers faced down as well. I am hoping that by putting all the flowers in the silica faced down will help me get flowers that dry in a open position for a better aesthetic appeal. I covered both flowers in silica gel and plan to leave it sealed in the container for about a week as well. Though I might open the container after 5 days as my past experiments show that the white orchid dries faster than the purple orchid. I have also found in my experiments that the purple Orchid takes about 10 days to dry, so I plan to leave it in the silica gel until about 10 days have passed.

4 thoughts on “Drying Big and Small Orchids

  1. Hello!!! I am very interested in the results of your experiments!
    Did you continued to dry and coat the flowers? What happened to the last batch of orchids?
    I am really curious about all these!
    Thank you! Your work is awesome!

    Like

    • Hello! The results of my experiment for this batch was that the big flower wilted, I think it needed more than a week in the silica gel due to its size. Though for the two small orchids they completely dried and I was able to coat them with resin. With those two flowers I created jewelry. Hope that answered your questions 🙂

      Like

  2. Hi, thank you for posting your experiment. I find this fascinating and wanting to try it out myself with my garden’s flowers. Thus, I would appreciate it if you are willing to share more information about the type of products and perhaps their price that you have been using for your projects. To begin with, I wonder what kind of silica gel do you use. Is it the same as the desiccant beads, which is a form of silica gel, that come in food packages?

    Thank you so much ❤

    Like

Leave a comment