Preserving Small Flowers and Applying a Second Coat on the Orchids

To continue on from the last experiment I coated the Orchids with a second layer of resin in order to completely preserve and harden the flower.

IMG_4582IMG_4583IMG_4585

I coated the Orchid with the mixed resin, coating both the front and back of the flower.

IMG_4587 IMG_4588 I did the same process to the other Orchid.

I then picked small flowers from my garden to use for smaller jewelry and for the keychain. My grandma came to the house over the weekend and she brought the Orchids that grows in her garden. All the flowers I have been using are prototypes and are practice for when I use the actual flowers from my parents birthplaces. Though I am planning to sell these prototypes since they were picked from my backyard. Also, due to the fact that I already have flowers from my mother’s birthplace, I will be including the flower to the collection of jewelry and photography from flowers from my parents birthplaces.

IMG_4580 These are the flowers from my mother’s birthplace, Pangasinan.

IMG_4573 IMG_4574 IMG_4576  These are the three small flowers from my backyard.

IMG_4577 IMG_4578 IMG_4579 I followed the same process of drying the flowers with silica gel by covering them completely with the gel and sealing it for five days before coating it with polyester resin.

Leave a comment